2018-19 Board of Directors

Columbia Montessori School is a non-profit early childhood educational community, and has been governed by a board of parents since the beginning.  

The Board’s primary purpose is to ensure that CMS fulfills its mission and meets its stated goals. The Board also provides financial oversight, risk management, and executive oversight functions. Board committees propose policies and strategy and are responsible for the hiring, review, and termination of the Executive Director. The Board accomplishes its work through the following committees: Governance (Scott Wilson, Chair), Finance (Jeffrey Richter, Chair), Development (Kate Gunn, Chair), Board Development (Kate Buse-Oberto, Chair), Communications (Catt Buko, Chair), and Building & Grounds (Brent McCauley, Chair.

Parents and staff are welcome and encouraged to attend Board meetings, ask questions, and review Board documents. Board meetings are held every third Monday of the month. Board meeting minutes are available to all parents upon request. Please see the Executive Director if you would like copies of any materials or have questions about being involved with the Board of Directors or with a Board committee.

Board of directors

board@columbiamontessori.org

Individual Board Members

Kate Gunn, Chair of Board of Directors; Chair of Development Committee kate.gunn@columbiamontessori.org

Alex Gray, Vice-Chair of Board of Directors alex.gray@columbiamontessori.org

Kate Buse-Oberto, Secretary for Board of directors; Chair of Board Development Committee kate.buseoberto@columbiamontessori.org

Brent McCauley, Treasurer for Board of Directors; Chair of Building and Grounds Committee brent.mccauley@columbiamontessori.org

Catt Buko, Chair of Communications Committee catt.buko@columbiamontessori.org

Jeffrey Richter, Director of Finance Committee jeffrey.richter@columbiamontessori.org

Leigh Ann French leighann.french@columbiamontessori.org

Richard Rege richard.rege@columbiamontessori.org

Sadie Burnam-Schaumburg sadie.burnamschaumburg@columbiamontessori.org

Scott Wilson, Chair of Governance Committee scott.wilson@columbiamontessori.org